Healthy French Toast Recipe

This morning I woke up, craving a warm, comforting breakfast, but I’ve had just a few too many bowls of oatmeal recently. What else could I make? I spotted a loaf of whole wheat bread on the counter. It had been a long time since I’d had French Toast. Could I make a hearty and healthy french toast breakfast that would keep me fueled until lunch? In fact, I did, and here’s how:

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 slices whole grain bread
  • 3-4 tbsp. egg white per slice of bread
  • Cinnamon
  • Light syrup
  • Sliced fresh strawberries

Instructions

  1. Microwave the bread for 15 seconds
  2. Spray a pan with Pam. Add the bread. Turn the burner on to medium-low
  3.  Pour the egg whites over the bread and let the bread absorb it.
  4. Cook 1-2 minutes on each side
  5. Sprinkle cinnamon on top. Continue cooking and flipping until the bread is light brown and the eggs look cooked.
  6. Serve with light syrup or fresh sliced strawberries (I prefer strawberries).

Grapefruit makes a great closer to this hearty, healthy, comforting breakfast.

Bon appetit!

By: Kristen Berg

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)

Let us know what you think!

